The world’s weirdest fish- which isn’t even a fish

That fantastic little Mexican Walking Fish I've been going on  about. It's quite cute, really.

To be honest, it's not that weird for an "ambulatory fish". It's quite cute really.

Recently, I have come across one of the oddest things that I’ve ever seen. It’s called a Mexican Walking Fish, or an “Axolotl” if you want to be posh.

Personally, I’m still going to call it a Mexican Walking Fish. To be honest, it isn’t that odd- it’s actually quite a cute little fish (with legs). Just look at its beady eyes and little pink fluffy antennae!

WOOPER, noun. The most useless Pokémon that ever existed.

WOOPER, noun. The most useless Pokémon that ever existed.

Also, I have to say that this fish is the best ever inspiration for a Pokémon. These little creatures are the inspiration for those ugly Wooper things. If you’ve played the Pokémon games, you’ll know that they’re annoying and that people are always willing to trade one for a Rayquaza or something far cooler. They feel that such a trade is fair because “Woopers are better than Rayquazas”. If that was true, why would they want to trade it in the first place? Anyway, it isn’t- Woopers are lame unless you raise them to some ludicrous level.

Sorry for going off on a tangent. When I used to play those Pokémon games, this used to annoy me so much. Woopers, in my opinion, are retarded. They honestly shouldn’t exist in the games. However, Mexican Walking Fish are amazing.

And lastly, I’ve learnt that these odd little creatures aren’t even fish. They’re Mexican neotenic mole salamanders. When I first heard this, I didn’t have a clue what it meant. After looking into it further, I’ve learnt that this means that the Walking Fish has some traits that are only generally seen in younger animals, and blatantly that it is a type of salamander.

That’s all for today- apart from this random fish-related quote. Enjoy! :

I never drink water because of the disgusting things that fish do in it. ~ W. C. Fields

~ by unconventionality on March 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
